June 21, 2013  |  Member's statement

Rotary Club of Keilor East: Pride of Workmanship Awards

On 20 May I had the pleasure of attending the Rotary Club of Keilor East’s annual vocational awards night, the Pride of Workmanship Awards. The objective of the awards is to honour those people, irrespective of age, gender or vocation, who show a distinct quality in their approach, attitude and dedication to their vocation.

I take this opportunity to extend my sincere congratulations to all three awardees: Natasha Boyd of the Book Bonding Independent Bookstore located in Keilor Road, Niddrie, and also now in Gisborne; Rudolf Arends of the 15th Essendon Sea Scouts, who has committed 35 years of his life to the scouting community; and well-known and respected Strathmore veterinarian Murray Sykes, who goes above and beyond providing normal service levels for members of our local community and their pets.

I also congratulate John Walsh on receiving the Rotary Paul Harris (Sapphire) Award, the highest individual award offered by Rotary, in recognition of excellence in service to Rotary and the community. John Walsh was a Paul Harris Fellow prior to receiving the award, and has a long history with Rotary, serving as the president of the Rotary Club of Keilor East from 1996 to 1997 and then as assistant district governor for the Rotary district
from 1999 to 2001.

John is also a big part of the local community. He has served as president of the Rosehill
Secondary College school council since 1989 and has been president of Holloway Aged Care Services since 2002. John was a scout leader for 40 years and a founder of the East Keilor Leisure Centre, where he volunteered as a swimming teacher for 20 years. His new award comes after being named the City of Moonee Valley’s citizen of the year in 2007. I want to congratulate John on his many achievements and thank him for his work in our community over the last 50 years and, we hope, for many more years to come.

Finally, a big thankyou to vocational director, Mandy Glassey, for all her hard work in
organising the Pride of Workmanship awards.